Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators


The Council of Principal Investigators and Research Administrators (CPIRA) consists of individuals elected to represent Principal Investigators and Research Administrators from members of the Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi research community. The Council is committed to the continued improvement of the research environment for students, faculty, and staff. Specifically, the CPIRA and the faculty and staff it represents, endeavor to work with administration to provide an effective and efficient university organization, to achieve the goal of being nationally recognized and competitive in research, other sponsored activities and teaching. Read more about CPIRA.


  • Serve as a conduit between the administration and the research community.
  • Identify and provide solutions to issues affecting the research enterprise.
  • Meet regularly with administrators via an executive committee.
  • Serve on committees, task forces and advisory groups addressing issues affecting the research community.


Dr. Mark Besonen

Dr. Mark Besonen - Chair
 HRI 215B

Dr. Michael Starek Michael Starek - Vice Chair
NRC 3407
Ms. Erin M. Hill

Erin Hill - Coordinator
NRC 3215 

Dr. Sarah Scott

 Dr. Sarah Scott  - Immediate Past Chair
BH 301